Home > Uncategorized > Merv Lyndall is Doing the Most Good

Merv Lyndall is Doing the Most Good

While he’s not an employee of The Salvation Army, Merv Lyndall is certainly a regular fixture at the Command. Merv’s a volunteer extraordinaire who came The Salvation Army early last February while he was looking for a place to live after he was diagnosed with cancer last Fall.

“I spent a month in the hospital after I was diagnosed with cancer and saw many people who weren’t going to leave the hospital,” Merv said. “As bad as my situation was, I was much more fortunate than some other patients because I was able to leave. When I left, I decided I wanted to give back.”  

After being released from the hospital in late January, Merv came to The Salvation Army in hope of finding a place to stay. During that process, he met Volunteer Coordinator, Yvonne. Merv expressed his interest in volunteering to Yvonne and she told him that she was looking for someone with experience with gardening and small construction projects. This project was perfect for Merv and he immediately volunteered to help her out. He’s been helping out in the garden and where ever he can five to six days a week since.

Before getting sick, Merv split his time between theKnoxvillearea andAtlantaworking on different construction projects. Some local projects he worked on include theTitanicMuseum,SevierCountyWildlifeCenterand Sevierville City Jail. 

Merv says he’s thankful to be part of The Salvation Army’s mission and for the wonderful friends he’s met here and the spiritual support they’ve given him. “I love helping out here,” Merv added. “It’s good for my spirit and I’m thankful that you are letting me help those less fortunate with you. I don’t have a lot but I enjoy giving back.”

Thank you, Merv for being a shield and for doing the most good!

  1. June 30, 2011 at 5:22 pm

    Loved working wih Merv at the Salvation Army! What a great guy & excited to see you all writing about the hard work he put in for other!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment